Railway Zones in India

Railway Zones in India
Written by admin

Indian Railways is claimed and worked by the Government of India through the Ministry of Railways. Railroads were first acquainted with India in the year 1853 from Bombay to Thane. In 1951 the frameworks were nationalized as one unit, the Indian Railways, getting to be one of the biggest systems on the planet.

Indian Railways is partitioned into 17 zones, which are further sub-separated into divisions. The quantity of zones in Indian Railways expanded from six to eight out of 1951, nine of every 1966 and sixteen of every 2003. Each zonal railroad is comprised of a specific number of divisions, each having a divisional central station. There are an aggregate of sixty-eight divisions.

Each zone is going by a general supervisor, who reports straightforwardly to the Railway Board.

Konkan Railways is the most recent expansion to the Indian railroads zones and it’s controlled by Railway Board and Railway Ministry.

Piyush Goyal is the current Railway Minister of India.

Railway Zones in India

S No. Railway Zone Zone Headquarters Railway Divisions
01 Northern Railway Delhi Delhi, Ambala, Firozpur, Lucknow NR, Moradabad
02 Northeast Frontier Railway Guwahati Alipurduar, Katihar, Rangiya, Lumding, Tinsukia
03 Eastern Railway Kolkata Howrah, Sealdah, Asansol, Malda
04 South Eastern Railway Kolkata Adra, Chakradharpur, Kharagpur, Ranchi
05 South Central Railway Secunderabad Secunderabad, Hyderabad Vijayawada, GuntakalGuntur, Nanded
06 Southern Railway Chennai Chennai, Tiruchirappalli, Madurai, Palakkad, Salem, Thiruvananthapuram
07 Central Railway Mumbai Mumbai, Bhusawal, Pune, Solapur, Nagpur
08 Western Railway Mumbai Mumbai WR, Ratlam, Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Bhavnagar, Vadodara
09 South Western Railway Hubballi Hubballi, Bengaluru, Mysuru,
10 North Western Railway Jaipur Jaipur, Ajmer,Bikaner, Jodhpur
11 West Central Railway Jabalpur Jabalpur, Bhopal  Kota
12 North Central Railway Allahabad Allahabad, Agra, Jhansi
13 South East Central Railway Bilaspur Bilaspur, Raipur, Nagpur SEC
14 East Coast Railway Bhubaneswar Khurda Road, Sambalpur, Waltair
15 East Central Railway Hajipur Danapur, DhanbadMughalsarai, Samastipur, Sonpur
16 Konkan Railway Navi Mumbai
17 Kolkata Metro Railway  Kolkata Kolkata

Visit again for new updates of Railway Zones in India

About the author


Leave a Comment